The Reserve Bank will soon issue Rs 20 and 50 notes with the rupee symbol.

“The Reserve Bank of India will shortly issue of Rs 20 and Rs 50 denomination Banknotes without inset letter and with (Rupee) symbol…bearing the signature of D Subbarao, Governor, RBI,” the central bank said in a statement.

The design of these notes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series 2005 issued earlier, except for rupee symbol, RBI added.

The Indian rupee got an unique symbol — a blend of the Devanagri ‘Ra’ and Roman ‘R’ — in 2010, joining currencies like the US dollar, euro, British pound and Japanese yen in having a distinct identity.

RBI to issue 20 and 50 rupee notes with rupee symbol
5 (100%) 1 vote